Space Pirate Radio (Air Date:November 30, 2017)



Series: Space Pirate Radio
SkyGuides: Marty Kunz and Diane Hall
Episode: « Pirates From Triangulum »
Air Date: November 30, 2017

Regular Showtime: Wednesday evening at 9pm ET (8pm CST, 7pm MST, 6pm PST)

Program Notes & Links:
Picked up the show with Marty talking about a Mars picture: https://www.jpl.nasa.gov/spaceimages/details.php?id=PIA22118

Then talk went on to meteor showers: The Geminids. https://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/meteor-shower/geminids.html

http://www.lunar-occultations.com/iota/bstar/bstar.htm

Then Diane mentioned http://www.skyandtelescope.com/astronomy-news/observing-news/first-reOctober 25, 2017ports-camelopardalid-shower-disappoints/

The sun is getting quiet again, one little spot heading around the bend: http://www.spaceweather.com/images2017/29nov17/hmi1898.gif?PHPSESSID=8brusv9jqhedc7vmsb7cvc6d73

https://scitechdaily.com/muse-co​nducts-the-deepest-spectroscopic-​survey-ever/

https://www.theguardian.com/science/across-the-universe/2017/nov/20/interstellar-object-confirmed-to-be-from-another-solar-system

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2017/11/updated-first-time-astronomers-are-tracking-distant-visitor-streaking-through-our-solar

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ʻO​umuamua

https://scitechdaily.com/role-of​-magnetic-fields-in-decelerating-​the-formation-of-massive-stars/

https://www.space.com/25585-triangulum-galaxy.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tr​iangulum_Galaxy

During the technical difficulties, various chat room members posted these tidbits:
The U.S. National Science Foundation will continue to fund the iconic radio dish

Arecibo Observatory Weathers Funding Uncertainty

Reminder: The Giant Magellan Telescope is going to be awesome http://www.planetary.org/blogs/jason-davis/2017/20171110-gmt-update-awesome.html

Govt eyes manned lunar surface mission: http://the-japan-news.com/news/article/0004090630

The Hubble Ultra Deep Field — that iconic image peppered with faraway galaxies — just got a whole lot deeper:

A Deeper View of Hubble’s Ultra Deep Field

Russian Weather Sat seen burning up above the Atlantic:
http://www.iflscience.com/space/russian-weather-satellite-may-have-plummeted-into-the-ocean-after-rocket-launch-fails/

https://www.theverge.com/2017/11/29/16715910/spacex-falcon-9-rocket-nasa-international-space-station-reusability

source